Your Election Results

5/21/2014, 4:16 p.m.
Multnomah County, your elections results are in. District 2 Incumbent Loretta Smith will retain her seat receiving about 77% of ...
Multnomah County Commissioner Loretta Smith

Multnomah County, your elections results are in from Tuesday’s vote-by-mail primary election.

Incumbent Loretta Smith will retain her seat on the Multnomah County Commission receiving about 77 percent of the vote, more than the 50 percent needed to avoid a runoff.

Smith, a former official with Sen. Ron Wyden’s office, was one of four candidates from Portland’s African American community. "Oregon Voters Digest" host Bruce Broussard had 13 percent of the vote; St. John's activist Teressa Raiford garnered 6 percent and graduate student Kelvin Hall received 3 percent.

Smith highlighted her creation of the Summerworks internship program that employs low-income youth over the summer as well as consistently voting to protect money for senior services in the county budget.

Smith was also able to raise more than $76,000 for the primary election; well ahead of her competition. State records show that Raiford raised $1,400 in campaign funds as well as $5,000 in in-kind contributions. Neither of the other two challengers raised more than $1,500.

In other elections, Deborah Kafoury won the race for County Chair, City Commissioner Nick Fish retained his seat, and City Councilmen Dan Saltzman was elected to his fifth consecutive four-year term beating out a field of three candidates with a commanding 64 percent of the vote.

A proposal to create a new water and sewer district independent of city control was also defeated with about 71 percent of voters opposing the measure according to unofficial results from Multnomah County.